Local time: :
General Information

The Republic of Latvia  

Location Situated in Northern Europe, on the coast of the Baltic Sea
Border countries Estonia, Russia, Belarus, Lithuania
Area 64589 km2
Population 2, 270, 000
Capital Riga
Official language Latvian
Administrative division Divided into 26 districts and 110 municipalities
Political system Parliamentary republic
President Andris Bērziņš
Prime Minister Laimdota Straujuma
Parliament The 100-seat unicameral Latvian parliament, the Saeima, is elected by direct popular vote every four years
Currency Lats (LVL



Calling code


Internet TLD



220 V


Lutheran 19.6%, Orthodox 15.3%, other Christian 1%, other 0.4%, unspecified 63.7%

Ethnic groups

Latvian 57.7%, Russian 29.6%, Belorussian 4.1%, Ukrainian 2.7%, Polish 2.5%, Lithuanian 1.4%, other 2%

International organisations

  •  Member of the European Union;
  •  theOrganization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE);
  •  the Council of the Baltic Sea States;
  •  the North Atlantic Treaty Organisation and others.