Local time: :
General Information


The Kingdom of Belgium  

Location Northwest Europe
Border countries France, Germany, Luxembourg and the Netherlands
Area 30,528 km2
Population 10.5 million
Capital Brussels
Official language Dutch, French, German
Administrative division Belgium is a federal state comprising three communities, three regions, and four language areas.
Political system Constitutional, popular monarchy and a parliamentary democracy.
King King Philippe
Prime Minister Elio Di Rupo
Parliament The bicameral federal parliament is composed of a Senate and a Chamber of Representatives.
Currency Euro (EUR)
Time CET (UTC+1)
Calling code 32
Internet TLD .be
Electricity 230 Volts
Religion Most, 75% of Belgians, are nominally Roman Catholic. Protestant, Muslim, agnostic, atheist and other minority religions comprise 25% of the population.
Ethnic groups Flemish majority, Walloon minority, Italians, Dutch, French, Moroccans, Algerians, Turks, Congolese, Poles, Indians
International organisations
  • Belgium is a founding member of the European Union and hosts the EU's headquarters, and those of several other major international organisations such as NATO;
  • member of the Council of Europe;
  • the Organisation for Security and Co-operation in Europe;
  • member of the International Organisation for Migration;
  • the World Trade Organisation and many others.