Local time: :


Austria was conquered by the Celts, Romans, Lombards, Huns, Bavarians, Goths, French, Germans, and Babenberg. They dominated the country from the 10th to the 13th century.
Their successors were the Habsburg who governed the country up to the 20th century.

During the 17th and 18th centuries, Austria became one of the great powers of Europe and, in response to the coronation of Napoleon I as the Emperor of the French, the Austrian Empire was officially proclaimed in 1804. In 1867, the Austrian Empire was reformed into Austria-Hungary.

The Habsburg reign ended in 1919, after World War I, when Austria turned into a Republic, suffering badly from inflation, unemployment and the loss of a national identity. That same year the German Austria state was declared. One month later the German-Austrian Republic was proclaimed.

After World War II, much of the infrastructure was destroyed. With international help, much was re-built in the following years. In 1955, Austria declared its neutrality and re-gained full sovereignty. The neutral status allowed the country to establish itself as a bridge between East and West during the Cold War.

In 1970 the Socialist Party (SPO) obtained victory and formed government headed by Bruno Kreisky. Kreisky resigned after the SPO party lost the power in 1983. In 1992 Thomas Klestil was elected Austria’s President.

In 1994 Austria became a European Union member.