Local time: :
General Information


Republic of Austria (Republik Österreich)   

Location Central Europe
Border countries The Czech Republic , Germany,  Slovakia,  Hungary,  Slovenia, Italy, Switzerland , Liechtenstein
Total: 83,855 km2
Water (%): 1.7
2012 estimate: 8,5 million
Capital Vienna
Official language German. Other local official languages are Burgenland Croatian, Hungarian and Slovene.
Administrative division Austria is divided into nine states (German: Bundesländer). These states are then divided into districts (Bezirke) and statutory cities (Statutarstädte). Districts are subdivided into municipalities (Gemeinden).
Political system Federal Parliamentary Democratic republic
President Heinz Fischer
Chancellor Werner Faymann
Parliament The institution consists of two chambers - the National Council (Nationalrat) (183 members) and the Federal Council (Bundesrat) (62 delegates).
Currency Euro (EUR)
Time Zone
Winter: CET (UTC+01)
Summer: (DST) CEST (UTC+02)
Calling code +43
Internet TLD .at
Electricity 220-240 Volts
Roman Catholic 73.6%, Lutheran 4.7%, Muslim 4.2%, other 5.5%,
no confession 12.0%
Nationalities 91.1% Austrians, 8.9% foreigners - 4% former Yugoslavs, 1.6% Turks, 2.4% others
International organisations
  • Austria is a member of the European Union;
  • the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development;
  • the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE);
  • member of the International Organisation for Migration;
  • the World Trade Organisation and many others.